The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition, 2009, is the standard guide for college students to the documentation style of the Modern Languages Association (MLA). The following information and most of the examples are taken from the Handbook. Consult the full Handbook for specific citation types not included here.
Research Tip:
As you proceed with your research print the first page of any web page you will be citing in your paper. This printed copy will usually include the URL (network address) and the date of access—information you will need for your Works Cited list.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
by
The citation for an electronic source must do the same thing as the citation for a traditional print source--it must identify the source and give enough information to enable the reader to locate it. Since electronic texts are usually not as stable and fixed as their print counterparts, your citation must provide more information than print citations generally give. Following are examples of some of the most commonly cited types of electronic sources.
Citing an eBook:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. Title of the Book. Ed. Editor’s Name [if applicable]. Place of Publication: Publisher, date of publication. Title of Electronic Text Collection or Project. Web. Date of electronic access
Examples:
Kent, Keri Wyatt. Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009. EBSCO eBook Collection. Web. 11 Oct. 2011.
Bunyan, John. The Pilgrim's Progress From This World to That Which is to Come. Ed. Will D. Howe. New York: Scribner's, 1918. Google Books. Web. 5 Oct. 2009.
Kluck, Ted. Hello, I Love You: Adventures in Adoptive Fatherhood. Chicago: Moody Publishers, 2010. Kindle. Web. 18 Nov. 2010.
Citing a scholarly journal article, found in an online database:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Periodical Volume number.Issue number (year): pages. Name of Database. Web. Date of access.
Examples:
Hall, Todd W., Annie Fujikawa, Sarah R. Halcrow, Peter C. Hill, and Harold Delaney. “Attachment to God and Implicit Spirituality: Clarifying Correspondence and Compensation Models.” Journal of Psychology and Theology 37.4 (2009): 227-244. ProQuest Religion. Web. 21 Jan. 2010.
Belaire, Christine, J. Scott Young, and Anastasia Elder. “Inclusion of Religious Behaviors and Attitudes in Counseling: Expectations of Conservative Christians.” Counseling & Values 49.2 (2005): 82-94. Academic Search Elite. Web. 6 Sept. 2005.
Citing a magazine article, found in an online database:
Format
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical Day [include only if magazine is published more than once per month] Month [abbreviate except for May, June, or July] Year: pages. Name of database. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Jeschke, Marlin. “Fixing Church Discipline: What Corrective Love Really Looks Like in the Body of Christ.” Christianity Today Aug. 2005: 30-32. ProQuest Religion. Web. 5 Oct. 2009.
Citing a magazine article, found on the web:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine. Publisher, Day Month Year of publication. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Obama, Barack. "Why Haiti Matters." Newsweek. Newsweek, 15 Jan. 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2010.
Citing a newspaper article, found in an online database:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Name of Newspaper Day Month Year, edition of newspaper [if there is one]: section and page number [use + if article covers more than one page]. Name of Database. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Goodstein, Laurie, and David D. Kirkpatrick. “On a Christian Mission to the Top.” New York Times 22 May 2005: A1+. Academic Search Elite. Web. 6 Sept. 2005.
Citing a newspaper article, found on the web:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper. Publisher, Day Month Year of publication. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Carter, Bill. "Conan O'Brien and NBC to Part Ways." New York Times. New York Times, 21 Jan. 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2010.
Citing an online government publication:
Format:
Government Name. Government Agency. Title of Online Publication. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Web. Date of Access.
Example:
United States. Census Bureau. The 2009 Statistical Abstract. Washington: GPO, 2009. Web. 5 Oct. 2009
Citing a web site:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name. Title of the Web Page [italicized if citing a main page; in quotes if part of a larger site; begin with this if no author is given]. Title of the Overall Web Site. Publisher: Date of the last update, if given. Web. Date of access.
Example:
"C.P. Haggard Graduate School of Theology: Free Methodist Center." apu.edu. Azusa Pacific University: 2009. Web. 5 Oct. 2009
Citing an online video:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name [or organization name; this can also be a user name. If no author is identified, begin with the title]. "Title of the Video". Title of the Overall Web Site. Publisher: Date of creation. Web. Date of access.
Example:
GoogleDevelopers. "Using the JavaScript Client Library with Google Calendar." YouTube. GoogleDevelopers: 1 Apr. 2008. Web. 21 Jan. 2010
Citing a podcast:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name [or organization name; this can also be a user name. If no author is identified, begin with the title]. "Title of the Podcast". Title of the Overall Web Site. Publisher: Date of creation. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Focus on the Family. "105: The Boundless Podcast." Boundless.org. Focus on the Family: 20 Jan. 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2010.
Citing a blog post:
Format:
Author’s Last Name, First Name [or organization name; this can also be a user name. If no author is identified, begin with the title]. "Title of the Blog Post". Title of the Overall Web Site. Publisher: Date of creation. Web. Date of access.
Example:
Black, Sheree. "On the Job: Design vs. Content (ding, ding!)" The Azusa Pacific Blog. Azusa Pacific University: 16 Dec. 2009. Web. 21 Jan. 2010.
Citing a dissertation or thesis found in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database (aka, "published" dissertations and theses):
Format:
Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Dissertation or Thesis. Thesis (include degree type)/Diss. School, Year. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Web. Date of access.
Examples:
Phillips, Sheri L. Predictors of Vocational Calling in Christian College Students: A Structural Equation Model. Diss. Azusa Pacific U, 2009. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Web. 3 May 2010.
Jeffrey, Bobbie Ann. British and American Approaches to Shakespeare: A Selective Study. MA thesis. U of Missouri - Kansas City, 2009. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Web. 3 May 2010.