Hirons Library : LGBTQ: Society and Politics

History

And the Band Played On by Randy Shilts
Call Number: RA643.8 .S5558 2000

ISBN: 0312241356

Publication Date: 2000-04-09

By the time Rock Hudson's death in 1985 alerted all America to the danger of the AIDS epidemic, the disease had spread across the nation, killing thousands of people and emerging as the greatest health crisis of the 20th century. America faced a troubling question: What happened?
A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5|bB696 2011

ISBN: 9780807044650

Publication Date: 2012-05-15

A Queer History of the United States is more than a "who's who" of queer history: it is a book that radically challenges how we understand American history. Drawing upon primary-source documents, literature, and cultural histories, scholar and activist Michael Bronski charts the breadth of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from 1492 to the 1990s.
How the Homosexuals Saved Civilization by Cathy Crimmins; Cathy E. Crimmins
Call Number: HQ76 .C74 2005

ISBN: 1585424250

Publication Date: 2005-06-02

A cultural history of the customs, fashions, and figures of gay life in the twentieth and the early twenty-first centuries-and how they have changed us for the better.
Out for Good by Dudley Clendinen; Adam Nagourney
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U5 C58 1999

ISBN: 0684867435

Publication Date: 2001-06-05

This is the definitive account of the last great struggle for equal rights in the twentieth century. From the birth of the modern gay rights movement in 1969, at the Stonewall riots in New York, through 1988, when the gay rights movement was eclipsed by the more urgent demands of AIDS activists, this is the remarkable and until now untold story of how a largely invisible population of men and women banded together to create their place in America's culture and government.
Gay New York by George Chauncey
Call Number: HQ76.2 .U52 N53 1994

ISBN: 9780465026210

Publication Date: 1995-05-19

Gay New York brilliantly shatters the myth that before the 1960s gay life existed only in the closet, where gay men were isolated, invisible, and self-hating.
Toward Stonewall by Nicholas C. Edsall
ISBN: 9780813925431

Publication Date: 2006-03-02

In Toward Stonewall, Nicholas Edsall provides a much-needed synthesis, drawing upon both scholarly and popular writings to chart the development of homosexual subcultures in the modern era and the uneasy place they have occupied in Western society.
Gay Berlin by Robert Beachy
Call Number: HQ76.2 .G42 B43 2014

ISBN: 0307272109

Publication Date: 2014-11-18

Known already in the 1850s for the friendly company of its "warm brothers" (German slang for men who love other men), Berlin, before the turn of the twentieth century, became a place where scholars, activists, and medical professionals could explore and begin to educate both themselves and Europe about new and emerging sexual identities.
The Gay Revolution by Lillian Faderman
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U5 F33 2015

ISBN: 9781451694123

Publication Date: 2016-09-27

The sweeping story of the struggle for gay and lesbian rights--based on amazing interviews with politicians, military figures, and members of the entire LGBT community who face these challenges every day.
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
ISBN: 9780684325545

Publication Date: 2019-02-08
The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues by Susan Burgess
ISBN: 9781604265934

Publication Date: 2011-05-24
The Rise of a Gay and Lesbian Movement by Barry D. Adam
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U6 A336 1995

ISBN: 0805738649

Publication Date: 1995-03-01

Barry D. Adam has updated his 1987 study of the movement to offer a critical reflection on strategies and objectives that have been developed for the protection and welfare of those who love others of their own sex.
The Gay and Lesbian Liberation Movement by Margaret Cruikshank
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U6 C7855 1992

ISBN: 0415906474

Publication Date: 1992-08-01

This is one of the first books on the movement written specifically for introductory students. It examines gay and lesbian liberation from three different perspectives: as a sexual freedom movement, as a political movement and as a movement of ideas.

LGBT Studies

The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483371306

Publication Date: 2016-06-02

This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives.
Whipping Girl by Julia Serano
Call Number: HQ77.9 .S47 2016

ISBN: 9781580056229

Publication Date: 2016-03-08

Julia Serano shares her powerful experiences and observations,both pre- and post-transition,to reveal the ways in which fear, suspicion, and dismissiveness toward femininity shape our societal attitudes toward trans women, as well as gender and sexuality as a whole.
Gender by Lisa Wade; Myra Marx Ferree
Call Number: HQ1075 .W33 2015

ISBN: 9780393931075

Publication Date: 2014-10-15

Wade and Ferree's first edition textbook is a lively introduction to the sociology of gender. The authors use memorable examples mined from pop culture, history, psychology, biology, and everyday life to truly engage students in the study of gender and spark interest in sociological perspectives.
Inseparable by Emma Donoghue
ISBN: 9780307593610

A book that explores the little-known literary tradition of love between women in Western literature, from Chaucer and Shakespeare to Charlotte Brontë, Dickens, Agatha Christie, and many more.
Born Gay by Glenn Wilson; Qazi Rahman
Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 W55 2008

ISBN: 9780720613094

Publication Date: 2008-05-01

In this book the authors show that attempts to find a sociological cause for homosexuality have little foundation and argue that popular efforts to blame parents or teachers for a child's homosexuality are futile and unjust. Combining their own findings with all the available quantifiable research, the authors have, with this study, provided an urgently needed addition to the major work that has been done in this field.
Torn by Justin Lee
Call Number: BR115 .H6 L44 2012

ISBN: 9781455514311

Publication Date: 2012-11-13

As a teenager and young man, Justin Lee felt deeply torn. Nicknamed "God Boy" by his peers, he knew that he was called to a life in the evangelical Christian ministry. But Lee harbored a secret: He also knew that he was gay. In this groundbreaking book, Lee recalls the events--his coming out to his parents, his experiences with the "ex-gay" movement, and his in-depth study of the Bible--that led him, eventually, to self-acceptance.
In a Queer Time and Place by Judith Halberstam
Call Number: HQ75.5 .H3534 2005

ISBN: 0814735851

Publication Date: 2005-01-01

The first full-length study of transgender representations in art, fiction, film, video, and music Judith Halberstam examines the significance of the transgender body in a provocative collection of essays on queer time and space.
What's Your Pronoun? by Dennis Baron
Call Number: P279 .B37 2020

ISBN: 9781631496042

Publication Date: 2020-01-21

Like trigger warnings and gender-neutral bathrooms, pronouns are sparking a national debate, prompting new policies in schools, workplaces, even prisons, about what pronouns to use.
White Girls by Hilton Als
Call Number: HQ76.27 .A37 A47 2013

ISBN: 9781940450254

Publication Date: 2014-08-05

"White girls," as Als dubs them, are an expansive but precise category that encompasses figures as diverse as Truman Capote and Louise Brooks, Michael Jackson and Flannery O'Connor. In pieces that hairpin between critique and meditation, fiction and nonfiction, high culture and low, the theoretical and the deeply personal, Als presents a stunning portrait of a writer by way of his subjects, and an invaluable guide to the culture of our time.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by Kevin Nadal (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483384283

Publication Date: 2017-07-25

This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more.
Is It a Choice? by Eric Marcus
Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5 M35 1993

ISBN: 0062506641

Publication Date: 1993-05-07

An enlightening guide for the families and friends of men and women who've come out and for everyone else who wants to find out what it means to be gay.
Charity and Sylvia by Rachel Hope Cleves
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 C54 2014

ISBN: 9780199335428

Publication Date: 2014-05-27

Conventional wisdom holds that same-sex marriage is a purely modern innovation, a concept born of an overtly modern lifestyle that was unheard of in nineteenth century America. But as Rachel Hope Cleves demonstrates in this eye-opening book, same-sex marriage is hardly new.
Gay Fandom and Crossover Stardom by Michael DeAngelis
Call Number: PN1995.9 .H55 D43 2001

ISBN: 0822327384

Publication Date: 2001-08-15

Why and how does the appeal of certain male Hollywood stars cross over from straight to gay audiences? Do stars lose their cachet with straight audiences when they cross over?
Lesbian and Gay Studies by Theo Sandfort (Editor); Judith Schuyf (Editor); Jan Willem Duyvendak (Editor); Jeffrey Weeks (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761954187

Publication Date: 2000-09-05

What is lesbian and gay studies? When did it emerge? And what are its achievements and research agenda?

Legal/Political

Unapologetic by Charlene A. Carruthers
Call Number: HQ75.6 .U5 C36 2018

ISBN: 0807019410

Publication Date: 2018-08-28

This 21st-century activist's guide to upending mainstream ideas about race, class, and gender carves out a path to collective liberation.
Same Sex, Different States by Andrew Koppelman
Call Number: KF539 .K67 2006

ISBN: 0300113404

Publication Date: 2006-11-30

Must a state in which gay marriage is not legal recognize such a marriage performed in another state?
Don't Ask, Don't Tell by Aaron Belkin (Editor); Geoffrey Bateman (Editor)
Call Number: UB418 .G38 D65 2003

ISBN: 1588261468

Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Conservatives and liberals agree that President Bill Clinton's effort to lift the military's gay ban was perhaps one of the greatest blunders of his tenure in office.
Same-Sex Marriage by David E. Newton
Call Number: HQ1033 .N494 2016

ISBN: 9781440850493

Publication Date: 2016-09-26

Same-sex marriage continues to be a polarizing subject in the United States and other parts of the world. This new edition of Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference Handbook brings readers up to date on the status of same-sex unions from social, legal, political, and historical perspectives.
Flagrant Conduct by Dale A. Carpenter
Call Number: KF224 .L39 C37 2012

ISBN: 9780393062083

Publication Date: 2012-03-12

No one could have predicted that the night of September 17, 1998, would be anything but routine in Houston, Texas. Even the call to police that a black man was "going crazy with a gun" was hardly unusual in this urban setting. Nobody could have imagined that the arrest of two men for a minor criminal offense would reverberate in American constitutional law, exposing a deep malignity in our judicial system and challenging the traditional conception of what makes a family.
Legalizing Gay Marriage by Michael Mello
Call Number: HQ1034 .U6 M4556 2004

ISBN: 159213078X

Publication Date: 2004-08-01

In this timely and accessible book, Michael Mello argues that the public debates and political battles that have divided Vermont and Massachusetts will be repeated across the country as state after state confronts the issue of legalizing gay marriage.
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States by Sean Cahill
Call Number: HQ1034 .U5 C34 2004

ISBN: 0739108824

Publication Date: 2004-08-13

The rhetoric and emotion surrounding the same-sex marriage debate tends to obscure the facts and figures. Tracing the development of same-sex marriage in the United States and its deployment as a political tool, Sean Cahill lays out the current situation in plain language and explains what's at stake.