Hirons Library : Psychology : Multimedia

Recommended DVDs

Emotional Intelligence by CRM Learning
Publication Date: 2001
Personality: All About Me by BBC Learning
Publication Date: 2004
Memory: Fabric of the Mind by Roger Bingham
Publication Date: 1991

Ted Talks

Search for "psychology" in TED Talks for about 100 video lectures.

Here are some featured videos:

The Paradox of Choice
Psychologist Barry Schwartz studies the link between psychology and economics. A copy of his book is located at Hiron's Library.
Why Believe in Others
Clip from 1972 of legendary psychiatrist and Holocaust survivor, Viktor E. Frankl.
The New Era of Positive Psychology
By Martin Seligman, the founder of positive psychologist.
A New Way To Diagnosis Autism
Ami Klin
The Power of Introverts
By Susan Cain. Get her book "Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking" at Hiron's Library.

Featured Video

From CrashCourse

Image Resources

Calisphere
More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Creative Commons
Search for images, video and documents, made available under creative commons licenses, which allow reuse without the need for permissions.
Europeana
This is a meta-catalog of cultural heritage collections from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. The catalogue includes books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.
Flickr Commons
Access to publicly-held photography collections.
Getty Images
Licensed images
Google Images
Tip: Drag and drop a picture onto the images search to find similar images.
J. Paul Getty Trust
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
NASA
National Gallery of Art
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 37,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Old Book Illustrations
Illustrations scanned from books in the public domain
Open ClipArt
PDPOSTER
Fun collection of public domain posters
Public Domain Review
Well-curated selection of public domain photos, illustrations, art, audio, films, and texts.
Rijks Studio
Create an account to download images from Rijks Museum
Stock Free Images
All images downloaded from Stockfreeimages are licensed under the Royalty Free license which means you license the image once and then you can use it as many times as you like, with just a few restrictions.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright.
Viintage
Free public domain images.
Wikimedia Commons
Also includes sounds and videos.

Podcasts

Scientific American: 60 Second Mind