Hirons Library : Psychology : Websites

Professional Organizations

American Psychological Association
American Psychiatric Association
American Academy of Clinical Psychology
Psi Chi
International honor society in psychology.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
The nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

Blogs

BSP Readers Digest
The British Psychological Society's blog provides original, authoritative reports on the latest psychology research papers.
Brain Blogger
Health and science blog that covers brain related topics.
PsyBlog
Articles posted with news and current events. Check out the psychology of money series.
The Situationist
A project run by the Harvard Law School, The Situationist aims to promote the research and understanding of social psychology for use in law, policy making, and legal theory.
We're Only Human
Articles about psychology and behavioral science by Wray Herbert, a staff writer and contributor of numerous publications.
Media Psychology Blog
Covers the psychology of social media, transmedia experience, and emerging technologies.
Psych Central
The collection of blogs highlight different topics and concerns in mental health and psychology, bringing fresh perspectives, ideas, and news updates.

Social Media

Search sites like twitter, facebook, and pinterest for current events and articles on psychology.

Twitter:

Pinterest:

All-About-Psychology

Facebook:

American Psychological Association

Government Sites

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminitration
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
MentalHealth.gov
MentalHealth.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.

more... less...

MentalHealth.gov aims to educate and guide:
•The general public
•Health and emergency preparedness professionals
•Policy makers
•Government and business leaders
•School systems
•Local communities
National Institute of Mental Health
Educational resources on mental health and treatment.
USA.gov
The official web portal for all local, state and federal government information and statistics.
CDC Mental Health Work Group
Includes basic public health information on mental health.
Delaware's Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Information on local mental health services.

Media Sites

Psychology Today
Website for the magazine
New York Times - Psychology
News about Psychology and Psychologists, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
Journal of the American Medical Association
Website for the journal. Includes articles, podcasts, videos, and quizzes.
World Newspapers
Listing of psychology magazines with free content.

Statistics & Data Sets Websites

UNdata: A world of information
Offers international statistics on a broad range of topics. Includes records from various United Nations agencies and programs (UNESCO, World Health Organization, etc.)

Educational Sites

Authentic Happiness
University of Pennsylvania website developed by the Positive Psychology Center. Dr. Martin E. P. Seligman is the Director of the Center, and a Professor of Psychology at Penn.
Center for Disabilities Studies - Univ of Delaware
University of Delaware's Center for Disabilities Studies. Includes links to publications and local resources.
Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
Nation's leading legal advocate for people with mental disabilities.
History of Psychology Archives
This site features biographies of important figures in the history of psychology and links to other biographical sources.
Psychological Research on the Net
Regularly updated links to known psychological experiments. Sponsored by the Hanover College Psychology Department.
Wesleyan University's Social Psychology Network
One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. In these pages, you'll find more than 19,000 links related to psychology.

Additional Websites

Psych Central
more... less...

Psych Central, whose daily operations are overseen by Dr. Grohol, provides mental health information as well as annotated guides to the most useful online resources today in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry.
Current Topics in Psychology
more... less...

Contains a Psychology Reference Guide for comprehensive general resources for professionals, parents, and students and a Quick Reference Guide for instant, quality information on specific topics in psychology.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
more... less...

Original information generated by respected researchers and practitioners in various fields of psychology and a hierarchical database of links to websites providing information about scientific psychology.
World Federation for Mental Health
Grassroots advocacy and education organization concerned with all aspects of mental health.

Apps

The Psychology Student Survival Guide app is a free online reference tool covering broad topics in the field of psychology. The newest version includes audio and video clips.

Available for Apple and Android

The3D Brain App - "Discover how each brain region functions, what happens when it is injured, and how it is involved in mental illness. Each detailed structure comes with information on functions, disorders, brain damage, case studies, and links to modern research."

Available for Apple and Android